Delegates or state representatives debated for months what should be enshrined in the Constitution. Some states voted in favour of a strong central government, while others opposed it. Large states felt that they should have more representation in Congress, while smaller states wanted equal representation with larger ones. Framer`s intention to “protect” small states through equal representation in the Senate is also evident in the Electoral College, since the number of votes in each state is based on the combined number of representatives in the House of Representatives and the Senate. For example, in Wyoming, the state with the smallest population, each of its three voters represents a much smaller group of people than each of the 55 votes that California, the most populous state, has cast. Smaller states with fewer populations argued that such regulation would lead to unfair domination of large states in the government of the new nation, and that each state should be represented on an equal footing, regardless of the people. This means, for example, that although Wyoming has only three electoral college votes, with the smallest population of all states, each voter represents a much smaller group of people than each of the 55 votes in California`s most populous state. Exactly 200 years ago, the authors of the U.S. Constitution gathered at Independence Hall reached an extremely important agreement. Their so-called “Great Compromise” (or Connecticut compromise in honor of its architects, S.G.S. MPs Roger Sherman and Oliver Ellsworth of Connecticut) offered a dual system of congressional representation. In the House of Representatives, each state would be allocated a number of seats relative to its population. In the Senate, all states would have the same number of seats.

Today, we believe that this regulation is self-evident; in the summer of 1787 welk-hot, it was a new idea. The Connecticut compromise (also known as the Grand Compromise of 1787 or the Sherman Compromise) was an agreement between large and small states during the 1787 Constitutional Convention, which defined in part the legislative structure and representation that each state would have under the U.S. Constitution. It maintained the bicameral legislation proposed by Roger Sherman, as well as the proportional state vote in the House of Commons or the House of Representatives, but required that the House of Lords or the Senate be weighted in the same way between states. Each state would have two representatives in the House of Lords. The Constitution also created an executive and a judicial branch that established a system of mutual control. The three branches would have a distribution of power, so that no branch could become more powerful than another. Early on, Governor Edmund Randolph of Virginia introduced the Virginia Plan, which provided for a three-branched national government.

The legislature would legislate, the executive would take the lead and impose laws, and the judiciary would explain and expose the laws.

Go top css.php